Dia dhuit

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    shamrockbhoy
    Participant

Is Mise Stephen, I Just joined the board I live in england and just started irish (self taught via the net) Am trying to learn more Irish more so Irish pronunciation I can’t find a teacher local to me to get lessons, i think this is the best way forward.

Sláinte mhaith

Héilics Órbhuí
    Participant

Fáilte romhat, a mhac!

Wee_Falorie_Man
    Participant

Fáilte romhat, a mhac!

I think you meant to say “a mhic”, right?

Héilics Órbhuí
    Participant

Depends on dialect. In Connact (at least Conamara) it’s “a mhac”.

Lughaidh
    Participant

Isn’t “a mhac” a term of endearment while “a mhic” is only used to call your real son?

Wee_Falorie_Man
    Participant

A man said to me in a pub as he was making his way into the toilets: “Fág mo radharc, a mhac!” I don’t think he was using it as a sign of endearment somehow but telling me to get out of his damn way.

Instead of moving out of the way, you should have asked him why he said “a mhac” instead of “a mhic“. 😉

shamrockbhoy
    Participant

Is Mise Stephen, I Just joined the board I live in england and just started irish (self taught via the net) Am trying to learn more Irish more so Irish pronunciation I can’t find a teacher local to me to get lessons, i think this is the best way forward.

Sláinte mhaith

Stephen,

I don’t know if there any specific pronunciation courses out there and I fear that some of them may be from L2 speakers who generally have poor pronunciation.

The best (and cheapest) way is by listening to Raidió na Gaeltachta where you will hear native speakers. You can
    listen live via the website as well to as to podcasts of the various programmes. Don’t worry if you don’t understand everything; the important thing is that you get an idea of the basic sounds of Irish.