Gaeilge Comhráiteach/Conversational Irish

Fáilte (Welcome) Forums General Discussion (Irish and English) Gaeilge Comhráiteach/Conversational Irish

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Aodhán01
    Participant

I’m a secondary school student but I don’t really have much experience with any Irish you would use in a general conversation (usage of apostrophes and shortened versions of words m.sh ad->agat a’am->agam and more confusing ones that I find hard to understand. Does anyone have a good source of common shortened words, videos and websites would be appreciated.

Onuvanja
    Participant

A Aodháin, a chara, I’m not really aware of any specific online resource dedicated to contracted forms, but there’s a pretty thorough website dealing with Irish grammar in general, including contractions (e.g. ‘Prepositions’ – ag) and other features commonly found in spoken language. Hope this is of help!
    http://nualeargais.ie/gnag/gram.htm

Labhrás
    Participant

I’m a secondary school student but I don’t really have much experience with any Irish you would use in a general conversation (usage of apostrophes and shortened versions of words m.sh ad->agat a’am->agam and more confusing ones that I find hard to understand. Does anyone have a good source of common shortened words, videos and websites would be appreciated.

There aren’t really “shortened forms” in Irish.
    There is nothing comparable to English forms like “I’m, can’t, won’t, ‘ll, ‘d” etc.

“A’m” is just a dialect pronunciation of “agam”. (agam > agham > ám)

Onuvanja
    Participant