New here

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Deb
    Participant

Hi….is mise Deb. I was wondering if anyone , other than myself, is a complete beginner
    and if so, if they are using The Irish People’s lessons to learn Irish?
    Grma

Séril Báicéir
    Participant

I’m no longer considered a beginner, I’m sure, but that site and its lessons were some of the first ones I came across for free in my initial searches for lessons in Irish. They are very basic, but I think they can be a good place to start.

Personally I’ve found that having many different kinds of learning tools is often the best way to get as close to immersion as you can. Online dictionaries are useful, but I’ve found you need to have several in order to get the most amount of definitions/terms, and I always have a paperback bilingual dictionary with me as well.

And if you’re really serious, there are some programs out there such as Rosetta Stone Gaeilge that are definately worth the money, but can be a bit pricey.

I certainly hope you find all you need to keep learning Gaeilge. Agus fáilte go an fóram seo! 🙂
    Go n-éirí leat!
    Séril

Deb
    Participant

Grma mo Chara! It’s a pity I can’t find active language sites online.
    If there was some place I could practice what I’ve learned with others ,
    I’m sure I would learn faster. Maybe someday …:-)
    Oh, forgot to mention, I am also watching Róss NA Rún and that helps
    a great deal with hearing the language.
    Grma for your help. I greatly appreciate it! Slàn

Séril Báicéir
    Participant