Occurrences of on glides

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Jkspiezio
    Participant

I am having trouble figuring out exactly when an on glide occurs, both with broad sounds and slender ones. I know the sounds, well, sound and have a rough idea of when they occur, but I’d love it of someone could give some concrete rules. I’m studying the Connacht dialect, by the way, if it makes any difference. Thanks

An Lon Dubh
    Participant

Well roughly speaking, when the vowel and consonant don’t match in quality.
    For example the tongue position when making broad t is quite different from the position when making í. The off-glide is produced when making the transition between the two positions, in tuí for example. Basically E and I have tongue positions close enough to those of the slender consonants that on/off glides don’t occur. A,O,U are close enough to the broad consonants that a glide doesn’t occur.
    It’s only when you make E,I near broad consonants or A,O,U near slender ones that you need glides.
    However the main advice I’d give is to practice the consonants themselves. If you pronounce them correctly, the glides occur automatically, I don’t think you need to learn them. (For learning the language, obviously you can learn more about them for linguistic interest.)

Jkspiezio
    Participant

I’ve heard that said, but I still don’t hear the glide in words like bean and fear. And I never hear it after l or r. Is there more of a rule for when the sound occurs? Also, can you think of any instances where a broad consent followed by a soft vowel wouldn’t cause a glide? GRMA

An Lon Dubh
    Participant