Aistriúchán ar “silverback gorillas”

Fáilte (Welcome) Forums General Discussion (Irish and English) Aistriúchán ar “silverback gorillas”

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    STLbhoy
    Participant

One of the sponsors for my GAA club’s pub league wants to have a nickname in Irish on the back of their shirt, and they said they wanted the Irish for “Silverbacks” or “Silverback Gorillas”

I wasn’t sure if there’s a known word for this animal. I’m a novice myself but came up with “na Goraillí geal-liath” – but that’s a bit long.

Is there a good way to say Silverbacks as Gaeilge?

Héilics Órbhuí
    Participant

http://www.tearma.ie/Search.aspx?term=silverback&lang=3116649

‘goraille droimairgid’ dar leis an bhForas.

STLbhoy
    Participant

Go raibh maith agat, I had seen that translation – would I need to do anything to the adjective to make it plural? Or would it just be “goraillí droimairgid”?

Héilics Órbhuí
    Participant

Precisely. You don’t need to do anything to it because it’s technically not an adjective, it is a genitive noun acting as an adjective, which as you probably know is fairly common in Irish.

STLbhoy
    Participant

Thank you – so if I wanted to shorten it to just “silverbacks”, would I then take the genitive plural of airgead? i.e. “Na droimairgead”?

Héilics Órbhuí
    Participant

I personally wouldn’t attempt to shorten it in the same way you would in English. I doubt anyone would have a clue what you’re talking about.