Something about this doesn’t sit right with me..

Fáilte (Welcome) Forums General Discussion (Irish and English) Something about this doesn’t sit right with me..

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Héilics Órbhuí
    Participant

Cad tuige mar sin nach mbainfí leas as seirbhís atá an rialtas ag íoc as cheana féin?

Shouldn’t atá = a bhfuil?

I only ask because this came from a Beo.ie article and I usually assume those are really well written and not full of grammatical errors. I’m not good with fine points of grammar, though. I keep thinking I’m probably missing something.

féabar
    Participant

I am not sure but I think it is correct Irish becauwe “atá” refers to leas as seirbhís (benefit from the service) which you see is right in front of it. It seems that nested phrase there is just a simple direct relative clause in the middle of the sentence. These direct and indirect clauses are always tricky for me. I have to think of them in English to work my way through them.

Labhrás
    Participant

Cad tuige mar sin nach mbainfí leas as seirbhís atá an rialtas ag íoc as cheana féin?
    So, why shouldn’t one benefit from a service which the government pays for already?

Sílim: seirbhís (service) … as (for it) -> usually an indirect relative.
    Scríobhfainn mar sin:
    Cad chuige mar sin nach mbainfí leas as seirbhís a bhfuil an rialtas ag íoc as cheana féin?

féabar
    Participant

I think Labhrás is right on this. I was not understanding the meaning of the sentence correctly. Labhrás, would the indirect always follow something with the idea of “for which”……?

Héilics Órbhuí
    Participant

Yeah, it should be an indirect relative as far as I can tell.

Cad chuige mar sin nach mbainfí leas as seirbhís a bhfuil an rialtas ag íoc as cheana féin?

This is what I would have written.

Héilics Órbhuí
    Participant