Pronunciation of some slender consonants

Fáilte (Welcome) Forums General Discussion (Irish and English) Pronunciation of some slender consonants

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 27 total)
  • Author
    Jkspiezio
    Participant

So, I understand very well the concept of broad and slender and know how most of the consonants are pronounced. However, though I’ve read that a lot slender consonants (such as m, n, c, b, et al) are pronounced with a sort of “y” sound after them, when I listen to speakers I only really hear this before the “eo” diphthong. Has anyone else noticed this? In short, what is the proper pronunciation for these consonants. If it makes a difference, I’m studying the Connacht dialect.

Labhrás
    Participant

So, I understand very well the concept of broad and slender and know how most of the consonants are pronounced. However, though I’ve read that a lot slender consonants (such as m, n, c, b, et al) are pronounced with a sort of “y” sound after them, when I listen to speakers I only really hear this before the “eo” diphthong. Has anyone else noticed this? In short, what is the proper pronunciation for these consonants. If it makes a difference, I’m studying the Connacht dialect.

eo isn’t a diphthong, it’s only a digraph. It is a single vowel /o:/ written with two letters. The “e” in eo is silent.

A sort of “y” sound is only necessary to negotiate the somewhat uncomfortable step from slender consonant to broad vowel. This step can be higher or lower. Maybe you are right and before [o:] this step is highest.
    But I hear an on-glide /j/ in meá, neá, beá, ciú, niú, etc., too.

Of course, there’s no “y” sound between slender consonants and slender vowels because there are no steps to go:
    cí, cé, bí, bé, ní, né, mí, mé, etc.

Lughaidh
    Participant

But I hear an on-glide /j/ in meá, neá, beá, ciú, niú, etc., too.

depends on the dialect, in Ulster there’s no glide in meá, beá etc, since the á is not a back vowel, but a front one 🙂