simple beginner’s pronunciation question

Fáilte (Welcome) Forums General Discussion (Irish and English) simple beginner’s pronunciation question

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    mairnéalach
    Participant

Dia dhuit, is mise Paul. I am a complete beginner at learning Irish: I’ve done the Pimsleur course, a few Bitesize Irish Gaelic lessons, and just started Gaeilge gan Stró, so apologies that this such a trivial question. My problem is with how to pronounce the phrase I started off with, namely “Dia dhuit” – specifically, the “dhuit” part.

I’ve picked up a few basic things. I know there are regional variations. I think I am right in saying that the pronunciation of dhuit is affected here because there is a vowel preceding it, and also that some people would spell it “duit” and pronounce it slightly differently. Nonetheless, in what seems like much the same situation (as part of the same phrase and pronounced by Munster dialect speakers) I have heard it said as something like “gut” “hut” and “hutch”, and in the phrase “cad is ainm duit” it sounds more like “ditch”.

I know it’s good to not get too hung up about these things very early on in learning a language, and I’m sure a native speaker would understand what I was saying, but this one is driving me mad and I’d like to understand. I’ve tried listening to online radio but of course nobody says “Dia dhuit”.

Not my main question but closely related: in the Gaeilge gan Stró course, someone says “Gia daoibh” where this time the D sounds almost like an R: is that simply a more gutteral pronunciation of the “hut(ch)” versions of dhuit?

And making the most of this opportunity, why does “Conas atá tú” sometimes have atá and sometimes tá and apparently is pronounced either way?